Temple architecture

Assembly Speaker Forms House Committee for Inspection

Bhubaneshwar: A day after State Assembly lawmakers raised concerns about ongoing construction works near the Sri Jagannatha Temple in Puri, President Surjya Narayan Patro formed an internal committee to review the proposed corridor of heritage.

The eight-member parliamentary committee will be headed by the president. Its members are Narasingha Mishra, Debi Prasad Mishra, Jayant Sarangi, Lalitendu Bidyadhara Mohapatra, Pratap Jena, Bikram Keshari Arukh and Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak.

Yesterday, BJP MP for Puri Jayant Sarangi raised the issue of construction works near Sri Jagannatha Temple and told the House that the National Monument Authority and Archaeological Survey of India said that they do not had given no approval for the construction of a permanent structure. near the temple.

Deep pits are being dug near the temple which could damage the temple structure, he said.

Asking President SN Patro to take the matter seriously, the MP demanded the formation of a House committee composed of members of all political parties, the temple administration, servants and architectural experts, to review construction activities.

In addition, BJP Chief Whip Mohan Majhi has asked the Speaker to rule on the formation of a House panel for this purpose.

Congress Legislature party leader Narasingha Mishra has also demanded the immediate formation of a House committee so members can inspect the construction site and submit its report to the next session of the assembly.

Bhubaneswar BJP MP Aparajita Sarangi today raised the issue of construction works in the Lok Sabha and caught the attention of the Union Culture Minister.

Participating in the debate, BJD MP for Puri, Pinaki Mishra, said no major construction activity was going on near the temple. Only four toilets are being built by the state government for worshippers, Mishra informed.