Traditional temple

Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel inaugurates renovated ‘Shivrinarayan’ temple

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel on Sunday inaugurated the renovated Shivrinarayan Temple as part of the state government’s ambitious Ram Van Gaman tourist circuit.

Shivrinarayan Temple is the second of nine sites marked in the first phase of the project.

The circuit is being developed to preserve memories of Lord Rama’s exile period, the chief minister said.

”The purpose of the Ram Van Gaman tourist circuit is to preserve the memories related to Lord Ram’s stay in the state during his exile from Ayodhya. When it comes to places of religious significance, Chhattisgarh has a long list to offer tourists. Lord Rama resides in the heart of the people of Chhattisgarh,” Baghel said during the closing ceremony of a three-day event. With this ambitious program, the Chief Minister said that the future generation will have the opportunity to learn about its culture and tourists from home and abroad will also benefit from high-level facilities.

”Lord Rama has deep significance in the culture and tradition of Chhattisgarh. The main reason is that for the people of Chhattisgarh, Rama is not only a faith, but it is also a state of life and an ideal system. In Chhattisgarh he is revered as a nephew. Arang, located just 27 km from Raipur, is believed to be the birthplace of Mata Kaushalya and the maternal grandmother of Shri Ram”, he added.

Earlier in the day, Baghel offered prayers at Mata Kaushalya Temple in Chandkhuri, Raipur on the occasion of Ram Navami.

Mata Kaushalya Temple was the first site developed under the project.

The three-day event was held at the newly renovated temple premises in the Janjgir-Champa district.

The event kicked off with various troupes performing ‘Manas Gayan’ (Ramcharit Manas recital).

Approximately 350 prominent performers from 25 districts across the state participated in the recital competition, the results of which will be announced on the closing day.

The tourist circuit should be 2,260 km long, according to the government.

The places that have been chosen are: Seemamarhi-Harchauka (Koriya district), Ramgarh (Sarguja district), Shivrinarayan (Jjanjgir-Champa district, Rajim (Gariyaband district), Turturiya (Bodabazar district), Chandkhuri (Raipur district), Sihawa-Saptarshi Ashram (Dhamtari district), Jagdalpur (Bastar district) and Ramaram (Sukma district).

(This story has not been edited by the Devdiscourse team and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)