The priceless Kohinoor Diamond, which is now on display at London’s Jewel House, originally belonged to a temple in Telangana. King Pulakeshin II of the Chalukya Dynasty built the Bhadrakali Temple in 625 AD at Warangal, Telangana. When the rulers of Kakatiya took control of the region, they made Goddess Bhadrakali their “Kula Devatha” and attached the Kohinoor Diamond to the deity’s left eye. During the Kakatiya era, the Kohinoor diamond was first mined in the Kollur mines.
Around 1310 AD, Sultan of Delhi Alauddin Khalji acquired the diamond with the help of his general Malik Kafur. According to sources, it was also one of the stones of the Mughal Peacock Throne. It passed through several hands and dynasties until the British took control of Punjab in 1849, captured the Kohinoor Diamond and presented it to Queen Victoria.
Bhadrakali Temple – The original owner of the Kohinoor Diamond
Located between Warangal and Hanamkonda, Bhadrakali Temple is one of the oldest shrines dedicated to Goddess Bhadrakali. As the scripts on the temple wall reveal, King Pulakeshin II had established the shrine to celebrate his victory over the Vengi region. The temple sits on the shore of Lake Bhadrakali, surrounded by echoing greenery. The picturesque lake sits amid the charming hills. Many looting activities had reduced the temple to ruins until Sri Ganesh Rao Sastri renovated it in the 1950s with some wealthy natives.
Also Read: This Temple Near Bangalore Looks Like A Peacock’s Feather And Overlooks Lush Hills
The deity has mighty eyes and eight hands
Goddess Bhadrakali or Bhadrakali Ammavaru is considered the embodiment of strength for women. The ancient Chalukya architecture of the temple with the natural splendor as a backdrop will take your breath away. The entrance to the temple also has touches of Kakatiya architecture. Bhadrakali Temple is a very tranquil place where historic charm meets the calm of nature. The golden-hued temple wears a celestial glow during sunrises and sunsets. The unique stone sculpture of Goddess Bhadrakali at the temple has mighty eyes and eight arms with different weapons.
Also Read: Kerala’s Only Lake Temple Has Vegetarian Crocodile
The sanctuary is about 2.5 kilometers from the town of Warangal. To get there, tourists can hire auto rickshaws and other modes of transport.